Svobody (Freedom) Square

City's main square is the largest square in Ukraine and one of the largest in Europe. This is the venue of festivals, concerts, fairs, rallies, meetings, and other public events.

The central part of square's circumference is occupied by the State Industry Building or Derzhprom. This is one of city's unique architectural and historic sights. It was built in 1925-1928 to become the first high-rise building in the country. The Derzhprom consists of a group of blocks connected by passages running on different levels. The following figures signify the scope of the structure: total site area occupies 11,000 square meters and the facade length is 300 meters.


The building was designed by architects S.Serafimov, S.Kravets, and M.Feldher. The construction work was headed by prominent civil engineer and academician of architecture, P.Rottert

To the left of the Derzhprom is the building of the Kharkiv National University named after V.Karazin, one of the oldest and largest higher education institutions founded in 1805. The University building has about 2,500 lecture rooms and laboratories. 

A monument to the University founder V.Karazin is located nearby on the side of the Shevchenko Gardens. The monument was unveiled in 1906, designed by sculptor I.M.Andreoletti and architect A.I.Beketov. 

An eight-story building of the Hotel Kharkiv also faces the Svobody Square. 

The square's architectural ensemble is completed by the building of the Oblast Council of People's Deputies erected in 1954 on site of the old one destroyed by Nazis during the war. The building was designed by architects V.Orekhov and V.Kostenko.

Return to Home Page Welcome Greeting | About Kharkiv | Official Kharkiv | Industry | Business & Law
Science & Education | Culture & Arts | Tourism & Leisure | City & Region | What, When, Where | Internet

Площадь Свободы

Главная площадь города. Это самая большая площадь в Украине и одна из крупнейших в Европе. Здесь проводятся народные гуляния, концерты, ярмарки, демонстрации, митинги и другие массовые мероприятия.

В центре периметра круглой части площади расположен дом государственной промышленности - Госпром. Это уникальный архитектурно-исторический памятник города. Он строился в 1925-1928 годах и был первым высотным зданием в стране. Госпром представляет собой группу корпусов, объединенных переходами, расположенными на различных уровнях. О масштабах этого здания красноречиво говорят цифры: общая площадь застройки 11 тысяч квадратных метров, длина фасада 300 метров.


  
 
Авторы проекта здания архитекторы С.Серафимов, С.Кравец, М.Фельдгер. Возглавлял строительство известный инженер-строитель академик архитектуры П.Роттерт.

Справа от госпрома находится здание Харьковского Национального университета им. В.Н.Каразина - одного из старейших и крупнейших высших учебных заведений, который был основан в 1805 году. В здании университета около 2500 аудиторий, лабораторий и научных кабинетов.

Рядом с университетом, со стороны сада Шевченко установлен памятник его основателю - В.Н.Каразину. Он был открыт в 1906 году. Авторы памятника - скульптор И.М. Андреолетти и архитектор А.И.Бекетов.
     
Восьмиэтажное здание гостиницы "Харьков" также расположено на площади Свободы.

Завершает архитектурный ансамбль площади здание областного совета народных депутатов. Это здание построено в 1954 году на месте старого, разрушенного фашистами в годы войны. Авторы проекта - архитекторы В.Орехов и В. Костенко.

 

Вернуться на домашнюю страницу Добро пожаловать | О Харькове | Город официальный | Промышленность | Бизнес и право
Наука и образование | Культура и искусство | Досуг и туризм | Город и область | Что, Где, Когда | Интернет

Hosted by ConCom Ltd. Rambler's Top100 Яндекс.Метрика