T. Shevchenko Gardens

The Shevchenko Gardens is the oldest green area in the city center. It was planted as far back as 1804. The gardens central path is a beautiful chestnut-tree alley leading from the  Taras Shevchenko Monument to the University building. The gardens area of 25 hectares has over 15,000 trees and bushes of more than 100 varieties. It also has gigantic oaks, which are over 200 years old. One of these grows close to the monument to the great Kobzar (Bard). The gardens are being expanded and improved every year. After the war, their western slope was reconstructed with a water cascade and stairs leading down to the Klochkovska Street. A color and music fountain is located in the center of the gardens.

At the far end of the Shevchenko Gardens, there is a Movie and Concert Hall Ukrayina for 1,850 seats, known for its excellent acoustics. The originally shaped building merges well with the gardens green environment. It was designed by architects V.Vasilyev, Yu.Plaksiyev, V.Reusov, and L.Fridhan, and engineer A. Biletsky. The Movie and Concert Hall Ukrayina was inaugurated in August 1963.

  Not far from the Concert Hall there is the main entrance to the Zoo. The Kharkiv Zoo was founded in 1895 and has already celebrated its centenary. It now has about five thousand animals representing 340 species of mammals, reptiles, amphibia, birds, and fishes from all continents. Of a great interest is the aquarium with exotic fishes of 80 species. The Zoo occupies the area of 22 hectares. As it is located in the wonderful gardens in city center, it is always populous with about 1 million visitors annually. 
On the grounds of the T.Shevchenko Gardens there is an astronomical observatory of the Kharkiv National University founded in 1808. Scientists study solar processes, observe planets of the Solar system and satellites. Study of the moon occupies an important place in the research  program. For many years, the observatory was headed by prominent scholar Academician N.P.Barabashov. In recent years, his name is more often associated with the Metro station named after this prominent scientist and Ukraine's largest Barabashov Market. So, the T.Shevchenko Gardens provide an opportunity to recall who really was Academician Barabashov.

Return to Home Page Welcome Greeting | About Kharkiv | Official Kharkiv | Industry | Business & Law
Science & Education | Culture & Arts | Tourism & Leisure | City & Region | What, When, Where | Internet

Сад имени Т.Г. Шевченко

 
Сад имени Т.Г. Шевченко - старейший зеленый массив в центре города. Он заложен еще в 1804 году. Украшение сада - прекрасная каштановая аллея, которая ведет от памятника Т.Г.Шевченко к зданию университета. В саду на площади 25 гектаров растет свыше 15 тысяч деревьев и кустарников более 100 пород. Здесь есть дубы-великаны, возраст которых свыше 200 лет. Один из них растет рядом с памятником великому Кобзарю. Сад с каждым новым годом расширяется, благоустраивается. В послевоенное время был реконструирован его западный склон. Здесь построен водяной каскад и лестницы с выходом на Клочковскую улицу. В центре сада - фонтан цветомузыки.

     

В глубине Сада имени Т.Г.Шевченко находится киноконцертный зал "Украина", рассчитанный на 1850 мест, отличающийся прекрасной акустикой. Оригинальное по форме здание хорошо вписалось в зеленый массив сада. Оно построено по проекту архитекторов В.Васильева, Ю.Плаксиева, В.Реусова, Л.Фридгана, инженера А.Белецкого. Киноконцертный зал "Украина" был открыт в августе 1963 года



  Недалеко от киноконцертного зала - центральный вход в зоопарк. Харьковский зоопарк был создан в 1895 году и уже отметил свой столетний юбилей. Сейчас здесь около пяти тысяч экземпляров 340 видов зверей, пресмыкающихся, земноводных, птиц и рыб - представителей животного мира всех континентов. Большой интерес представляет аквариум, в котором живут экзотические рыбы 80 видов. Территория зоопарка 22 гектара. Поскольку он расположен в замечательном саду в центре города, в зоопарке всегда многолюдно - ежегодно его посещает около 1 миллиона человек.

В саду имени Т.Г.Шевченко находится астрономическая обсерватория Харьковского Национального университета, основанная в 1808 году. Ученые изучают процессы, происходящие на Солнце, ведутся наблюдения за планетами Солнечной системы и спутниками. Важное место занимают работы по изучению Луны. Многие годы обсерваторией руководил известный ученый академик Н.П.Барабашов. В последние годы его имя все чаще ассоциируется со станцией метро, названной в честь выдающегося ученого и крупнейшим в Украине рынком - Барабашовским. Так вот в саду имени Т.Г.Шевченко есть повод вспомнить кем на самом деле был академик Н.П.Барабашов.

 

Вернуться на домашнюю страницу Добро пожаловать | О Харькове | Город официальный | Промышленность | Бизнес и право
Наука и образование | Культура и искусство | Досуг и туризм | Город и область | Что, Где, Когда | Интернет

Hosted by ConCom Ltd. Яндекс.Метрика