Universities & Colleges
Research Institutes
Medical physics
  From parish schools in the XVII century through establishment of Kharkiv college which remained the educational centre of Sloboda Ukraine till the beginning of the XIX century marked with the foundation of Kharkiv University - this was how the history of Kharkiv education unfolded. From the date of its foundation the Kharkiv University became the centre of enlightenment and scientific knowledge not only in Sloboda Ukraine (Slobozhanshchina) but also for the whole Southern part of Russia. It was the Kharkiv University where the famous microbiologist I. I. Mechnikov defended his diploma thesis. Before the revolution of 1917, well-known scientists worked within its precincts. Among them were a physicist and chemist N. N. Beketov, mathematicians M. V. Ostrogradsky, V. A. Steklov, A. M. Lyapunov, historians A. I. Yavornitsky, D. I. Bagaley, biochemist A. Ya. Danilevsky, philologist A. A. Potebnya and many others.
  With the development of capitalism in Russia it became necessary to prepare qualified specialists for various industries which led to the foundation in Kharkiv of the Technological Institute in 1885. Its first head was the well-known scientist, professor of mechanics V. L. Kirpichyov. The high level of proficiency of graduates of Kharkiv Technological Institute is demonstrated by the following facts: its graduates include the pioneer of the national aviation, the prominent ship building engineer L. M. Matsiyevich, and the People's Commissar on heavy industry L. B. Krasin. In the following years other educational institutions were opened in Kharkiv: the Women's Medical Institute (1910) and the Agricultural Institute (evacuated from Alexandria to Kharkiv in 1914). There were a total of six higher educational institutions in Kharkiv before the revolution. They were also the centres of scientific research in their corresponding areas. In the second half of the XIX century, different scientific societies began to play an active part in scientific development. A noteworthy one among these was the Kharkiv Medical Society, founded in 1861. On the 25th anniversary of its founding the Society opened a bacteriological station with the Pasteur Institute and a microscopic chemistry room. In 1894, a station department was created - the Curative Vaccine and Sera Institute. Consequently it became the basis of the Bacteriological Institute. The people who worked at the Institute included L. S. Tsenkovsky, V. K. Vysokovich, V. I. Nedrigailov, I. I. Mechnikov (consequently the Institute was named after him). The Institute conducted intensive research on immunology and epidemiology, supplied bacteriological preparations to all Russian provinces, but did not have government support and was funded by public contributions! In 1907 with the assistance of the Medical Society the country's first traumatic surgery research organization was set up in Kharkiv (currently Orthopedics And Traumatic Surgery Research Institute named after M. I. Sitenko). In 1901, Ukraine's first Kharkiv Verification Office was created in the city initiated by the great Russian scientist D. I. Mendeleyev. Eventually it was used as the basis for Ukraine's Principal Office of Measures and Weights (currently Metrology Research Institute). In 1909 Kharkiv Agricultural Society set up the Selection Station (currently Plant Cultivation, Selection, and Genetics Research Institute named after V. Y. Yuryev).
  The Soviet power declared the development of science in Kharkiv the state priority. The newly organized research institutes on the one hand carried out explorations in the fields traditionally developed in Kharkiv (medicine, biology, mathematics, mechanics, chemistry) and on the other hand they helped to solve problems which were urgent for the state needs to ensure rapid development of heavy and defense industry, transportation modernization, power engineering, nuclear physics, management of water and forest resources. Kharkiv research institutes had performed their job and were working on the tasks offered to them which in turn initiated the foundation of new research institutes, the influx of brain power and the increase of scientific research funding. This trend did not reverse even during the Great Patriotic War. In particular the Kharkiv physico-mathematical school took part in construction of missile weapons and aviation, the famous T-34 tank was created under the guidance of Kharkiv engineer M. I. Koshkin.
  The time from the 1950's to the 1980's was the period of prosperity of Kharkiv scientific school. Kharkiv became one of the world's space research centres which was tied up with the development of physical and mathematical science. Kharkiv scientists can be proud of great accomplishments done in the areas of genetics, cryogenic biology, powder metallurgy, transport and turbo generator mechanical engineering, engine construction , creation of effective and environmentally clean fuel, development of high quality construction materials. In the 1980's every fifth Ukraine's research institute and every seventh scientist in Ukraine worked in Kharkiv. About 180 research institutions and R&D groups were operating in the city. These included 67 research institutes, 80,000 scientists, including 500 Doctors of Science (professors) and more than 4,500 candidates of science (PhD) and the Scientific Centre of Ukrainian Academy of Sciences was opened here in Kharkiv.
  At present, as Ukraine became a sovereign state, the Kharkiv higher education and research institutes are undergoing structural reorganization. We are not going to make comments or present the final analysis on the current state of science in Kharkiv. Time will show what the 1990's are going to be.
Return to Home Page Welcome Greeting | About Kharkiv | Official Kharkiv | Industry | Business & Law
Science & Education | Culture & Arts | Tourism & Leisure | City & Region | What, When, Where | Internet

НАУКА  И  ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ
От церковно-приходских школ XVII века через учреждение Харьковского коллегиума, остававшегося центром просвещения Слободской Украины до начала века XIX, к открытию Харьковского университета 17 января 1805 года - таков славный путь харьковских просветителей. С самого начала своего существования Харьковский университет стал центром просвещения и научных исследований не только на Слобожанщине, но на всем Юге России. Это был второй во всей Российской империи университет после Московского. В университете защитил свою дипломную работу биолог И.И.Мечников, в дореволюционный период в его стенах трудились известные ученые: физико-химик Н.Н.Бекетов, математики М.В.Остроградский, В.А.Стеклов, А.М.Ляпунов, историки А.И.Яворницкий, Д.И.Багалей, биохимик А.Я . Данилевский, филолог А.А.Потебня и многие другие.

С развитием в России капитализма возникла необходимость в подготовке специалистов для различных отраслей промышленности, в связи с чем в 1885 году в Харькове был открыт Технологический институт. Первым директором его стал известный ученый, профессор механики В.Л.Кирпичев. О качестве подготовки научных кадров в Харьковском Технологическом говорят такие факты: среди его выпускников - пионер отечественной авиации, выдающийся корабельный инженер Л.М.Мациевич, нарком тяжелой промышленности Л.Б.Красин. За ним в городе появились: женский медицинский институт ( 1910 г.) и сельскохозяйственный институт (эвакуирован из Александрии в Харьков в 1914 г.). Всего накануне революции в Харькове было шесть высших учебных заведений, в их стенах по преимуществу и велись научные исследования. Но, начиная со второй половины XIX века в решение научных проблем включаются научные общества. Особенно отличалось Харьковское медицинское общество, основанное в 1861 году. В 25-летнюю годовщину со дня своего образования общество открыло бактериологическую станцию с Пастеровским институтом, химико-микроскопический кабинет. В 1894 году было образовано отделение станции - институт лечебных сывороток и вакцин. В дальнейшем на этой базе был создан Бактериологический институт, деятельность которого связана с именами Л.С.Ценковского, В.К.Высоковича, В.И.Недригайлова, И.И.Мечникова, чье имя стал носить институт впоследствии. Институт, интенсивно работавший над проблемами иммунологии и эпидемиологии, рассылавший бактериологические препараты по всем губерниям России, не имел государственной поддержки и существовал на общественные средства! В 1907 году с помощью Медицинского общества в Харькове было организовано первое в стране травматологическое научно-исследовательское учреждение ( ныне - НИИ ортопедии и травматологии им. М.И.Ситенко). В 1901 году в городе по инициативе великого русского ученого Д.И.Менделеева создается первая на Украине Харьковская поверочная палата, послужившая базой Украинской Главной палаты мер и весов (ныне - НИИ метрологии). В 1909 году Харьковское сельскохозяйственное общество организовало селекционную станцию (ныне - НИИ растениеводства, селекции и генетики им. В.Я. Юрьева).
После установления Советской власти в Харькове вопрос о научно-исследовательских учреждениях был поставлен на государственную основу. Открывавшиеся НИИ, с одной стороны, примыкали к традиционно развивавшейся в Харькове проблематике (медицина, биология, математика, механика, химия), с другой стороны, помогали решать поставленные государством задачи: обеспечить опережающие темпы развития тяжелой и оборонной промышленности, модернизацию транспорта, развитие энергетики, ядерной физики, оптимальное управление водными и лесными ресурсами. Харьковские НИИ с честью справлялись с поставленными задачами, что, в свою очередь, вызывало открытие новых научных направлений, приток в город научных кадров, увеличение объемов финансирования научных исследований. Тенденция эта не была пресечена даже в годы Великой Отечественной войны. В частности, харьковская физико-математическая школа была привлечена к решению проблем конструирования реактивного вооружения и авиации, знаменитый танк Т-34 был создан под руководством харьковского конструктора М.И. Кошкина.

На 50-е - 80-е годы приходится расцвет харьковской научной школы: Харьков становится одним из крупнейших в мире центров космических исследований (и, кстати, остается им и поныне), это теснейшим образом увязано с развитием физико-математических приложений. Впечатляющими результатами могут гордиться харьковские ученые, занимающиеся вопросами генетики, криобиологии, порошковой металлургии, транспортного и турбинного машиностроения, проблемами конструирования мощных и экономичных двигателей, созданием эффективного и экологически чистого топлива, разработкой качественных строительных материалов. В 80-е годы в Харькове работало каждое пятое научное учреждение и каждый седьмой ученый Украины. В городе действовало около 180 научных и проектных организаций, в том числе 67 научно-исследовательских институтов, работало около 80 000 научных работников, среди них 500 докторов и более 4500 кандидатов наук. В Харькове создается Научный центр Академии наук Украинской ССР.

           Ныне, после обретения независимости Украиной, идет организационная перестройка высшей школы и научно-исследовательских учреждений Харькова. Итоги подводить мы не рискнем.

Вернуться на домашнюю страницу
Добро пожаловать | О Харькове | Город официальный | Промышленность | Бизнес и право
Наука и образование | Культура и искусство | Досуг и туризм | Город и область | Что, Где, Когда | Интернет
Hosted by ConCom Ltd. Яндекс цитирования Rambler's Top100