Region Map (298 Kb)
Region Map



Did you know?
The territory of Kharkiv region could fit-in such countries as
Belgium, Luxembourg, Monaco, Vatican, Malta, and Liechtenstein
taken together and with all their population.
But why in the hell would they want it ?
Kharkiv outskirts. Nature and Climate
Agricultural enterprises of Kharkiv region
Remarkable dates in Kharkiv history
Towns of Kharkiv Region

The Kharkiv region was officially created on the 27th of February, 1932.

The Kharkiv region is situated in the North-East of Ukraine. It borders Belgorod region of Russia in the North and North-East, Lugansk region in the East, Donetsk region in the South-East, Dnipropetrovsk region in the South-West, Poltava and Sumy regions in the West and North-West. The territory of Kharkiv region is 31,400 square kilometers. The extension from North to South is 210 km, from East to West - 220 km.

The relief of the region can be referred to as a slightly rolling plain with a small incline to the South-west (towards the Dnipro watercourse) and the Southeast (towards the Don watercourse). In the Northeast the Mid Russian Eminence forms part of the region, in the South there are spurs of the Donets mountain-ridge.

The Don river basin accounts for 75% of the region's water resources. The main water-way - the Seversky Donets river- is the right hand tributary of the Don river. The total length of 867 rivers is 6,400 km and there are 156 rivers that exceed 10 km in length. There are also some lakes in the region, the biggest one called Liman. About 50 artificial bodies of water were created in the Kharkiv region in the XX century, the biggest ones are Krasnooskolskoye (Chervonooskolske), Pechenezhskoye (Pechenizke), Krasnopavlovskoye (Chervonopavlivske). The Northern part of Dnipro-Donbass water canal runs through the territory of the region.

The Kharkiv region is divided into 26 districts while there are 16 towns, 62 urban-type settlements , 1861 villages and farm-steads (khutors) on its territory. The biggest towns are Kharkiv with the population of 1,600,000 people, Izyum, and Lozova. Other important towns are Kupyansk, Chuhuyiv, Balakliya, Bohodukhiv, Zmiyiv.

The population of Kharkiv region is about 3,170,000 people. 78.8% of the population lives in towns. The average density of population is 100 people per square kilometer.

The region has relatively high level of economic development. One of the major reasons for this is its favorable geographical location. Proximity to coal and metal resources of Donbas and Trans-Dnipro region contributed to the development of mechanical engineering and metal working industries. The vicinity of Russia, its Black Earth belt region, its South-West and Southern regions predetermined the development of agriculture in the Kharkiv region. An important factor was also the presence of its own raw materials resources. This contributed to the development of fuel industry and power engineering, chemical and petrochemical industry, glass and porcelain, faience production, and the industry of construction materials.

The region can be divided into three industrial zones: Central, Eastern and Southern. The Central zone (Kharkivsky district and the neighboring districts) is characterized by the high level of specialization and industry concentration, this zone is Ukraine's leading center of energy industries, electromechanical, transport and agriculture mechanical engineering. The Eastern zone spreads around Kupyansk. The leading industry here is mechanical engineering, the Kupyansk foundry supplies parts for transport and agriculture machinery. Food processing including sugar production and light industry are developed here too, as well as the industry of construction materials. The Southern zone is rich in natural gas deposits - Shebelynske, Yefremovske, Krestishchenske and others. The towns in this zone are mostly specialized in mechanical engineering, chemical industry and construction materials production. Cement and roofing slates manufacturing plant in Balakliya is one of the largest in Europe, and Izyum is known as the centre of eyeglass lenses and optic instrument production. Light industry and food production is present here too.

The Kharkiv region agriculture is specialized in grain, sugar beet, sunflower, meat, milk, vegetables, and fruit production. A large selection centre "Ukrainka" is known as the R&D centre of agricultural science.

Kharkov region has a good transport network, 60% of which is railway. The total railway length comes up to 1442 km! Kharkiv railway junctions serve 10,000,000 passengers a year. The automobile transport though outstrips the railway in the amount of passenger traffic: buses serve almost 12,000,000 people a year. The major highways and freeways going through the region are Kharkiv - Moscow, Kharkiv - Simferopol, Kharkiv - Rostov-on-Don, and Kharkiv - Poltava. There are 16 intra-regional, 68 inner regional and 342 district roads. The total length of motorways is 15,000 kilometers. The Kharkiv airport used to have 200 flights a day, almost all of them were passenger flights

Return to Home Page Welcome Greeting | About Kharkiv | Official Kharkiv | Industry | Business & Law
Science & Education | Culture & Arts | Tourism & Leisure | City & Region | What, When, Where | Internet

ХАРЬКОВСКАЯ ОБЛАСТЬ

Территория - 31,4 тыс. кв. км. Общая численность населения - 2,9 млн. человек.
В Харьковской области могут свободно разместиться такие государства как Бельгия, Люксембург, Монако, Ватикан, Мальта и Лихтенштейн, вместе взятые, со всем своим населением. Но на черта им это сдалось?
Карта Харьковской области
РЕСУРСЫ ОБЛАСТИ

Харьковщина расположена на северо-востоке Украины. На севере и северо-востоке она граничит с Белгородской областью России,  на востоке - с Луганской, на юго-востоке - с Донецкой, на юго-западе - с Днепропетровской, на западе и северо-западе - с Полтавской и Сумской областями Украины. Протяженность : с севера на юг - 210 км, с востока на запад - 220 км. 

Рельеф области представляет собой волнистую равнину с легким наклоном в юго-западном (к бассейну Днепра) и в юго-восточном (к бассейну Дона) направлениях. В северо-восточную часть области заходит Среднерусская возвышенность, в южную - отроги Донецкого кряжа.

75% водных ресурсов области приходится на бассейн Дона.  Главная водная артерия - Северский Донец - является правым притоком Дона. Общая протяженность  867 водотоков составляет 6.4 тысячи км, причем 156 рек имеют длину более 10 км.   Есть в области озера, самое крупное из которых - Лиман. Создано около 50 водохранилищ, самые обширные из них - Краснооскольское, Печенежское, Краснопавловское. На территории области проходит трасса канала Днепр-Донбасс.

Население области - около 2,9 млн. человек. Городское население - 78.7%. Средняя плотность населения - 100 человек на один квадратный километр.

Область отличается достаточно высоким уровнем развития экономики. Это обусловлено как выгодным экономико-географическим положением (близость угольно- металлургической базы Донбасса и Приднепровья стимулировало развитие машиностроения и металлообработки, соседство же высокоразвитиых районов России - Центрально-Черноземного, Юго-Западного и Южного - определило развитие предприятий агропромышленного комплекса), так и достаточно богатым набором собственных сырьевых ресурсов. Эти ресурсы позволяют развивать топливно-энергетическую, химическую промышленность, стекольное и фарфоро-фаянсовое производство, производство стройматериалов.

Сельское хозяйство Харьковской области специализируется на производстве зерна, сахарной свеклы, подсолнечника, мяса, молока, овощей и фруктов. В области имеется крупный селекционный центр "Украинка".

АДМИНИСТРАТИВНОЕ ДЕЛЕНИЕ

Харьковская область (Харьковщина) образована 27 февраля 1932 года.

Условно область можно разделить на  три промышленных района: Центральный, Восточно-Харьковский и Южно-Харьковский.   Центральный (Харьков и прилегающие к нему районы) отличается высоким уровнем специализации и концентрации промышленности, здесь сложился комплекс энергетического, электротехнического, транспортного и сельскохозяйственного машиностроения. Восточно-Харьковский район сосредоточен вокруг Купянска. Основные отрасли промышленности здесь - транспортное и сельхозмашиностроение. Развиты в этом регионе также пищевая и легкая промышленность, производство стройматериалов и оборудования для сахарной промышленности. Южно-Харьковский район располагает крупными газовыми месторождениями - Шебелинским, Ефремовским, Крестищенским и др. Города района специализируются на машиностроении, химической промышленности и производстве стройматериалов. Цементно-шиферный завод в Балаклее - один из крупнейших в Европе, а Изюм известен как центр производства очковой оптики. Развиты здесь также легкая и пищевая промышленности.

Харьковская область разделена на 25 территориально-административных районов, в нее входят 16 городов, 62 поселка городского типа и 1861 село и хутор. Крупнейшие  города - полуторамиллионный Харьков, Изюм и Лозовая. Среди других наиболее значительные - Купянск, Чугуев, Балаклея, Богодухов, Змиев.

Харьковская область имеет весьма разветвленную транспортную сеть, причем 60% объема перевозок приходится на долю железнодорожного транспорта. Железных дорог здесь ни много ни мало 1442 км! А кроме того, Харьковский железнодорожный узел обслуживает 10 млн пассажиров в год. Автомобильный транспорт, правда, по части пассажирских перевозок, обгоняет железнодорожный: за год автобусы обслуживают почти 12 млн человек. Важнейшие автомагистрали, проходящие через  область: Харьков - Москва, Харьков - Симферополь, Харьков - Ростов-на-Дону, Харьков-Полтава. В области насчитывается 16 межобластных маршрутов, 68 внутриобластных и 342 внутрирайонных. Общая протяженность автодорог - 15 тыс км. Харьковский аэропорт обслуживает внутренние и международные авиалинии, занимаясь в основном пассажирскими перевозками.

Вернуться на домашнюю страницу
Добро пожаловать | О Харькове | Город официальный | Промышленность | Бизнес и право
Наука и образование | Культура и искусство | Досуг и туризм | Город и область | Что, Где, Когда | Интернет
Hosted by ConCom Ltd. Яндекс цитирования Rambler's Top100